Photo

As Little A Chance There Is

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
9 replies to this topic

#1 Zoe

Zoe

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 09:00 PM

This is the letter I'm sending to AHA for the Youth of the Year award.

I have loved horses since the day that I knew they existed. When I was 4 years old, I went to my very first horse camp, and from then until I was 8 years old, I rode every horse that I could get my fingers on, from trail rides to horse camps to lessons every other weekend. I then began my endeavor with Arabians, and have been head-over-heels for them since. I rode with Hunters with an Arabian instructor on the weekends from the time that I was 8 until I was 12, and fell in love with a little grey Arabian mare named Cameo. From there, my heart was on fire. When I was 13, I started riding cutting and barrel horses in exchange for excruciating days in the sun of work, just to get my fix, when I was no longer able to take lessons. When I was 14, I went on hiatus from horses for about 6 months. At last, I moved out of my mom’s and in to my dad’s, and he so graciously moved on to a horse farm. From there, he helped me buy a small cremello Quarter Horse mare. I adored her personality, but forever dreamed of having my “perfect” Arabian. I trained her from the ground up to a green walk/trot/canter horse, and only a few months after I sold her, she became the youngest certified therapeutic riding horse at St. Andrew’s college. After I sold her, I bought with my own money a purebred Arabian mare, but she still was not everything that I was looking for in a horse. Our personalities did not mesh, so after a year of trying to make it work with her, I resorted to putting her up for sale. Very soon after, her breeder proposed an offer, and I took it. Only two weeks after she went back “home,” I was utterly blessed by an offer that I could not refuse. This offer lead to my