• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 JRdesire

JRdesire

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,755 posts
  • Interests:PB Western Pleasure<br />Just about anything horse related!!!

Posted 22 March 2020 - 07:10 AM

So, I've always been someone who believes it is important to do things that give back to our community.  I don't mean just helping serve food at the major holidays, but actively volunteering with area nonprofit organizations.  I was a CASA (Court Appointed Special Advocate) for more than 15 years while I worked in corporate America.  CASA is a national nonprofit organization that works hand in hand with the court systems when children are taken into custody due to abuse, neglect or abandonment.  As a CASA, we work with those kids to help them navigate the system while they are in foster care, connect them with mentors, school resources, access to basic needs, etc...  

Anyhow, I am a small business owner.  I employ contractors on a per project/ client basis, so don't have any actual employees.  The work my business does is to help streamline operations, look for redundancy in how they operate whether it's looking at their technology, communication silos or their policies/ procedures that are not consistently applied across their business.

I've been seeing businesses who are using what resources they can and have available to give back.  For example, breweries who are now shifting to make hand sanitizers because they have access to the alcohol needed.  Some restaurants are giving out free sack lunches, and others are giving discounts for reduced childcare for essential workers.