2 replies to this topic

#1 kathy s.

kathy s.

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,706 posts

Posted 03 December 2018 - 07:07 PM

I will be free leasing a mare from a friend next year to use my Major Mac V breeding on. I want to have a contract to avoid any misunderstandings, etc. What needs to be included in the agreement?

Furthermore, what paperwork do I need to send Varian Arabians that covers the ultimate ownership of the (hopefully) resulting foal. I've never done this before and want to cover all the bases.

I do plan to add the mare to my insurance plan so she's covered during the length of the lease.  

Thanks for any tips and information.

Kathy
We can't afford a government so indifferent to the people it pretends to serve.

#2 BFF

BFF

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5,860 posts
  • Interests:Elikzir++/(Ganges x Ularia)6X U.S. National Top Ten
    LA LegacyInBlack+++//10X U.S. National Top Ten
    The Terminatorr+ U.S. National Champion
    PLEASE LIKE US ON FACEBOOK https://www.facebook.com/pages/Bonn-Fyre-FarmsTraining-Center/571022559602050
    Instagram too!https://instagram.com/bonnfyrefarms/

Posted 05 December 2018 - 07:01 PM

Hi Kathy,

It is always good to have things in writing.  The Varian contract should have something in it regarding someone being a Lesee of the mare. I think if you inform the breeding manager of the change and that you are leasing the mare that might be enough, or they will possibly have you sign something.  In my breeding contract for Elikzir leasing is covered as follows - ".......s “Mare Owner” (recorded owner of mare). If mare is leased, a copy of the lease agreement is required. "

You will need the owner of the mare to sign a foal application as breeder and if you want have them sign a breeder designation that will list you as the breeder of the resulting foal or the eligible for registration but unregistered foal application