Photo

Equine Insurance Carrier recommendations?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 JRdesire

JRdesire

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,519 posts
  • Interests:PB Western Pleasure<br />Just about anything horse related!!!

Posted 23 February 2018 - 07:09 AM

Anyone have any equine insurance carriers they recommend?  My Jarvis policy upped my premium more than $80 and there has never been a claim on him in the 3 years I have been with them.  

I'm not interested in Great American.

Please share your experiences.  Thanks.

I've learned that no amount of money can substitute for class.

#2 HGEsquire

HGEsquire

HG Esquire+

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 8,320 posts
  • Interests:I treasure my children, all my grandchildren and of course my dear husband Robert. I place high value on my family and are endeared to our horses and good friends. What else is there????

Posted 23 February 2018 - 01:39 PM

Only because I work in the insurance industry (not equine) can I say that premiums are not solely based on claims.
We hear the same about home, auto, etc. and have to explain to the insured that each year the risks change therefore premiums can either increase or decrease. Premiums are based on zip codes, travel, age of home, car, horse, breed, etc. And claims as well if there are any. An algorithm system is used to generate premiums rather than the agent. I hope this information proves somewhat helpful even though it doesn't help reduce your premium.

And now I have a question for you. That is if you don't mind sharing. Why is it you aren't interested in Great American? I used them in the past for a short period and am also currently researching equine insurance.

Denise Gainey

HG Esquire+, Rated 'E' for EVERYONE
GCA & Sport Horses on Facebook

Where Quality & Friendship Matter!

#3 BFF

BFF

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5,832 posts
  • Interests:Elikzir++/(Ganges x Ularia)6X U.S. National Top Ten