Photo

Park riding

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
23 replies to this topic

#1 skymare

skymare

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 194 posts

Posted 24 February 2011 - 07:50 PM

I've been coming to this forum for a couple years now, but I cannot remain silent anymore. This method of riding I utterly detest. I'd like to see people justifying why this should even be allowed anymore. The damage you people do to your horses physique, especially backs, infuriates me. Not to mention the complete lack of riding skills on display. I'd like one of you to show me what is proper riding and horse management.

This is what people outside the US think of park riding.

http://forum.cyberho...ead.php?t=85482 That's just to give you guys an inkling. When I find a more indepth argument against I'll post it too and you can see how much you are torturing your poor animals. You might want to look around at what proper riding is as well. Here's your first tip. #1 DON'T ride on the horses lower back or rump.
Breeder of Pure Crabbet Arabians.
Mill Park Anabella (Mill Park Amastar x Millbanda Bellalina)

Farnaway Golightly(pend) Colt by Senussi.

#2 Bey Sara

Bey Sara

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,501 posts

Posted 24 February 2011 - 07:57 PM

It does look like the horse is sruggling. Personally I don't like this type of riding.

#3 Gogetter

Gogetter

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,555 posts

Posted 24 February 2011 - 08:00 PM

I'd like to see solid proof of the damage you claim is being done. Actually, I think the number of park horses who stay sound well into their late teens/early 20's--Aequus, Allience, etc. might exceed those in other disciplines.

Nice job coming in here on the attack. Not sure what you're trying to accomplish. So you don't like it? Good, don't ride that way then.

Amy Johnson Proud owner of Carangi+/ (Versace X Giavanna)