Photo

Dressage sporthorse/prospect wanted in PNW

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
15 replies to this topic

#1 MelanieC

MelanieC

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 18 September 2010 - 11:24 AM

I am broken-hearted to do this because I thought I had found the perfect horse, but as it turns out I'm still looking.

I am a petite adult amateur (5'1", 105 lbs, 37 yo) looking for my first horse. I am an intermediate rider with several years of dressage training and hunter/jumper before that. I am currently half-leasing a horse but otherwise have always been a lesson rider. The horse I buy will be my only horse, and I hope to keep him/her for the rest of his/her natural life, so a horse with good movement, a fun work ethic and the potential to move up the levels in dressage would be nice but that said I am not gunning to win at Grand Prix. I would like to compete in local open dressage shows and in some Arab sporthorse classes but am not a "serious show home." I plan to do some cross-training and would like a horse who would be comfortable going on trail rides at least occasionally; I even have some interest in (very low level) eventing. No soundness issues or vices please.

Stellar temperament is a must -- I am not a beginner but I also don't want to have to be THAT alert all the time, and it would be great if non-horsey husband or future children could hop on this horse occasionally too. Personality plus is also a must -- outgoing, curious, friendly, interactive, eager to work with you -- I am a dog person (have three Border Collies) and am also looking for a giant pet. I plan to do a lot of clicker training and fun ground stuff outside of riding (toys, playing fetch, free lunging, whatever). If the horse has some groundwork issues (like not wanting his ears messed with, etc.) that does not bother me because I feel comfortable with dealing with those types of things as long as the horse actually likes people.